Our Board Members

The Board is comprised of nine members: six members are registered medical imaging or radiation therapy practitioners and three members are laypersons.

Members are appointed by the Minister of Health for a term of three years.  A member can be re-appointed for a further three-year term up to a maximum of three consecutive terms (i.e. nine years)

The Board is comprised of nine members: six members are registered medical imaging or radiation therapy practitioners and three members are laypersons.

Prue Lamerton


Nuclear Medicine Technologist

Prue Lamerton was re-appointed to the Board in 2010, and was elected chairperson in December 2015. Prue is a registered and practicing Nuclear Medicine Technology and is currently Team Leader for Nuclear Medicine at Hawkes Bay Fallen Soldiers Memorial Hospital. Prior to this appointment Prue worked for many years with Pacific Radiology in Wellington and was instrumental in the setup of the first PET/CT department in New Zealand. She has been actively involved with the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nuclear Medicine (ANZSNM) at both national and international levels for a number of years including representation for the New Zealand technologists on the ANZSNM Technologists Special Interest Group. Prue is a passionate technologist taking a keen interest in the latest Nuclear Medicine technology and professional trends.

Rosanne Hawarden

Deputy Chairperson

Lay member

Rosanne is a lay member of the Board, and was first appointed to this position in 2010.  Rosanne has a background in nursing and midwifery, human resources, and information technology.  She holds a Doctorate in Business and Administration, a Masters Degree in Psychology with a Bachelor of Social Science in Nursing and Midwifery.  Rosanne is a member of a number of professional bodies and is currently President of Governance New Zealand, formerly Chartered Secretaries NZ.  She is a director of a company representing a large international software house.  She is an internationally recognised scholar in diversity on boards of directors. 

Anthony Bow

Lay member

Anthony was appointed to the Board in July 2017.  He is Principal of Waimana Capital, a strategic and capital advisor to growth oriented and scalable businesses, and also consults with Iwi and financial organisations. Anthony has a background in leadership, operational management, banking and finance, taxation and audit. He holds Chartered Accountant designation from the professional accounting bodies of New Zealand and Singapore, and is a member of a number of other professional organisations. Anthony is Chair and Trustee of Bill McKinlay Park Trust, a charitable trust responsible for further developing a multi-sport facility in Panmure, Auckland, for the sporting community. He is passionate about creating a better future for a diverse and multicultural New Zealand. 

Beryl Kelly

Medical Imaging Technologist

Beryl Kelly was appointed to the Board in May 2011. Beryl has some 28 years’ experience in Radiography. She is Charge Medical Imaging Technologist at Counties Manukau District Health Board's (CMDHB).  Beryl has an on-going commitment to MRT's to ensure they are competent, safe in their practise and continually reviewing their knowledge to embrace the ever changing technologies in diagnostic imaging.  She also sits as a clinical manager on the Advisory Committees of all three New Zealand Academic Institutions who provide MRT training.  Her focus being to ensure students are equipped with the most current academic and clinical experience possible and able to enter the profession with confidence. 

Billie Mudie

Radiation Therapist

Billie was appointed to the Board in July 2015. She is a Professional Practice Fellow with the University of Otago, teaching planning on the Bachelor of Radiation Therapy. Billie also holds a joint appointment with the Wellington Blood and Cancer Centre where she works as a radiation therapist. Her passion is clinical education ensuring, new graduates are competent and safe to practice.

Lizzie Macaulay

Medical Imaging Technologist

Appointment to the board May 2016. Lizzie has 24 years’ experience in radiography in NZ and Australia and the UK, in both public and private practice.  She is currently working at Hawke’s Bay Regional Hospital as an MIT in general and CT. She also works as a project lead for Radiology Quality Improvement across many projects in Hawke’s Bay.  Lizzie has a passion for Radiography and the role it plays in the patient journey through healthcare. She has a special interest in Continual Quality Improvement within Radiology Services. 

Peter Dooley

Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technologist

Peter was appointed to the Board in May 2017 and is practicing MRI MIT and is currently the MRI team leader at Canterbury District Health Board (CDHB).  Peter has spent several years working in Auckland gaining valuable clinical experience in public and private departments before moving to Christchurch. Over the last two years Peter has designed two new MRI departments in Christchurch and has overseen procurement for four new MRI scanners. In 2015 Peter was elected as the South Island representative of the Society of MR Radiographers and Technologists (SMRT). Peter is passionate about embracing new technology which is changing how MRI has been done over last few decades.

Sue McKenzie

Lay member

Sue is a lay member of the Board, appointed in June 2010.  She has a background as a senior academic lecturer in the tertiary sector and as a consultant in the areas of business entrepreneurship and development, strategic planning, marketing, project management and professional staff development.  She has experience in curriculum development, moderation processes, competency reviews, research and the monitoring and assessment of qualifications.  Over the last twenty years Sue has had board and governance experience in the voluntary sector and on a number of advisory boards and committees at local and national level.  She is currently combining part-time lecturing, business consultancy projects, board and committee responsibilities and Justice of the Peace duties.

Louise Tarr


Appointed to the board in December 2015, Louise is a practising Sonographer and is currently Ultrasound Team leader at Mercy Radiology in Auckland.  She comes from a radiographic background with early clinical experience in General Radiography, CT and Angiography. Since completing her General and Vascular ultrasound qualifications her work experience has been focused within this field.  Louise is actively involved in staff development and student training. She is an ultrasound technical expert for IANZ and has been a member of Steering, Project oversight ultrasound groups and more recently on an Advisory board in Auckland.  She is passionate about medical imaging as a profession, maintaining health and safety and quality standards in the workplace.